The Cost of Medicine in America

First I am only relating what is/has happened to me.

I have high cholesterol.  I have tried diet to control it, but really didn’t put a lot of effort into it.  I exercise but knee problems prevent me from becoming the world’s next champion body builder, LOL!

Anyway, my doc has had me on several Statins to control my cholesterol and I relied heavily on them.  It required very little effort on my part, other than to swallow a pill.

But each time I am on a Statin, I end up with severe muscle pain.  So this recent visit resulted in a discussion about which would be better for me.  He decided to use Livalo, not as potent as the others, but far less side effects.

So I get to the pharmacy to pick up my meds.  First , they tell me they don’t carry it, but they  do check its cost for me.

$210.00 every friggin’ month as my co-pay!!!!!!!!

That is totally ABSURD!

Of course, I tell the pharmacist I cannot afford that…who can?.  Then I call my doc’s office and tell them the same thing.  I don’t know what he will order, but I know one thing……I’m sure going to change my ways….I plan to put forth more effort into losing weight and eating right.

I just might get lucky and not have to be on a Statin to lower my cholesterol.  I sure hope so.

Livalo

