How to Make a Corded Envelope Style Pillow

Per a friend’s request I am posting a photo tutorial on a corded envelope style pillow.  Making the cord is not difficult.  It can be a little tricky to sew it in place, but it is not impossible.  Just take your time.

First, decide on what size pillow you want to make.  Then purchase or make your own pillow form.

When cutting out the squares for the pillow case, they must be one (1) inch larger than your pillow form.  So if you have a 12 inch pillow form, you squares must be 13 inches.

When I cut out squares for front and back, I cut out 3 and they are all the same size.  Two I use for the back of the pillow. I fold over and sew about 1/4 to 1/3 of the back pieces.  You will see this in the photos.

I use 2 1/2 inch wide strips, sewn together end to end, to encase the cord.  For the cord, I use cotton clothes line.  It is soft and pliable and fairly easy to sew through.

Now for the photos:

C 1

C 2 C 3

C 4 C 5

C 6 C 7

C 8 C 9

C 10 C 11

C 12 C 13

C 14 C15

C16 C17

C18 C19

C20 C21

C22 C23

Here is another corded pillow I made.  This one is appliqued.  The owl I drew on regular 8.5 x 11 paper and cut out the pieces.  I used Steam a Seam 2 to attach the pieces and ironed them down. Then satin stitched around them.

MOM 3

3 thoughts on “How to Make a Corded Envelope Style Pillow

  1. I’m not quite for sure where you get all your craftiness. I tried this once. My stitching showed next to the cord. Oh well, it’s not visible when I’m lying on it.

    • You can always use clear nylon thread in the top of the machine and regular thread in the bobbin. Then your stitches won’t show. 🙂

    • Oh, and I think I got it from my grandmother, because my mother didn’t have a crafty bone in her body.

Comments are closed.