Saying “No” To Others

bg 2

cmd aFP1b

All of us at one time or another has been inundated with requests to make this or that; something that would infringe on our time, with no payment offered or, if so, a minimal amount that would not even cover supplies.

First of all, I am crafty. I sew, knit, crochet, make cards, dabble in polymer clay, photograph, etc. I love doing different things. But over the years, I have learned that most folks are “gimmie pigs”. “Make me this or make me that” with no consideration as to how long it took or the cost involved. And the worst part, finding out that they failed to take care of it, even when you provided them with hand written care instructions.

So I have learned to say, “No”. Yes there are ways to say “No” very politely and ways to say “No” rudely. I fall somewhere in between. For the most part, if I know you, I will say “No” somewhat politely…”No, I am not able to do that.” No further explanation is given. If you press the point, you will get the annoyed stare and a repeat of the former statement. If you continue, you get to see a side of me that tends to scare the crap out of people.

My youngest has told me in the past that I am rude to people. This was in reference to door to door sales people trying to sell me AT&T Uverse, something I neither needed or wanted. Yes I was blunt when they asked if they could tell me about it, but they got the point and left. I consider door to door sales people rude and obnoxious. They knock on your door and demand your time, then expect to separate you from your money. They usually realize quickly they have knocked on the wrong door.

Anyway, over the years I’ve learned that I do not owe anyone a handmade item. I also do not owe anyone an explanation as to why I am saying “No”. “No” is a complete sentence.

Just to clarify things a bit, I do make things for people, but they are things I want to make, when I want to make them and they are usually gifts for Christmas.

HP 11 a

Goony Bird 001a

CF5a

2 thoughts on “Saying “No” To Others

  1. I sometimes offer people to teach them how to make it themselves. They usually don’t want to do that… Ah well, then I’m not going to do it either. 😉 If they accept it can be a lot of fun.

  2. You are so right. I have taught several folks how to knit or crochet. But if I come across someone not willing to learn, then I’m not willing to do it for them. 🙂

Comments are closed.