Giving a Baby Bird a Second Chance

Hubby was out in the backyard when he noticed a baby bird on the ground. He came and got me to take a look at it. Any time we got near it, it opened its’ little mouth expecting food. I have heard numerous times that it is best to leave them because mom and dad will continue to take care of it. But there is an added problem to my backyard.

I have 3 outdoor cats and 1 dog that is of a hunting breed. I knew that little baby would not survive my menagerie without a little extra help.

So we took an old cardboard box and placed it on its side on top of some old shelving. I put an old towel in there and placed the baby inside. Then we waited.

Mom and dad are around checking things out. I haven’t seen either of them go in the box, but they seem to be aware that the baby is in there. I certainly hope they continue to take care of him/her.

bb1

bb2

bb3

5-11-14 I’ve been dreading posting this, but this little guy did not make it. I guess he had internal injuries from the fall that were too great to overcome.

