Dealing with Discouragement and Disappointment

We have all been there, felt those overwhelming emotions of discouragement and disappointment when we haven’t succeeded in reaching a specific goal in our quest for a healthier lifestyle.

Sometimes it happens in our exercise routine or in the weight loss goals we set for ourselves.

I know in my exercise routine, I had decided to do two different things to get myself healthier. One, I would walk my dog daily. The other, I would ride a bike. The walking I have been able to do and get better at it. Of course, I have a dog that loves to go walking anytime of the day or nite and is willing to go the distance as long as I am able and willing to go the distance. BUT, the bike riding….well, let’s just say that is on a back burner. Why? Because I got the wrong size bike for my height and I have difficulty balancing it. Needless to say I was very discouraged and disappointed that I couldn’t keep that part of my exercise program going. I felt guilty that I had to cut that part of my exercise out until I realized that I was doing great with the other part. I had to change my attitude. So I can’t ride THIS bike. I’ll sell it and save for one more suited to me…even if it is an adult tricycle, so be it. Or I’ll just sell it and save for a treadmill that I can use in the house during bad weather. Whatever I do, I know that one part of my exercise program is working and I will put all of my concentration into that for the time being.

My weight loss goals have, at times, also been an area of discouragement and disappointment. Yes, I would love to go to bed and wake up in the morning 20 pounds lighter. But that AIN’T GONNA HAPPEN! I have set myself a goal of X number of pounds to lose per week, per month, per 6 months. Has that happened? No. Discouraged and disapointed…yes. But then I have to sit down and have a good long talk with myself. So I am one of those folks who doesn’t lose weight easily. What can I do about it? Change my attitude about it. I had to realize that ANY weight loss is a GOOD thing. I had to look at what has happened so far in the past 6 months. I HAVE lost 24 pounds. I AM wearing a smaller size. I AM moving more. I HAVE a cholesterol number in the good zone. I HAVE lost a lot of inches.

Dealing with discouragement and disappointment is a matter of ATTITUDE! Change your attitude when the Double D’s attack. Look at the problem from a different point of view. What can you do about it? Is it worth fretting over? Are there other options? Who knows or cares (besides me) that I haven’t been able to accomplish ONE of my goals? When you look at the problem differently, the Double D’s tend to fizzle and stall.

Remember exercise routines and weight loss goals are not set in stone. They are fluid and our attitude must be fluid too.

See you on the good side of healthy.
bgg-14

3 thoughts on “Dealing with Discouragement and Disappointment

  1. While you have to take responsibility for your own behavior for successful weight loss, it helps to have support — of the right kind. Pick people to support you who will encourage you in positive ways, without shame, embarrassment or sabotage. Ideally, find people who will listen to your concerns and feelings, spend time exercising with you or creating healthy menus, and who will share the priority you’ve placed on developing a healthier lifestyle. Your support group can also offer accountability, which can be a strong motivation to stick to your weight-loss goals. If you prefer to keep your weight-loss plans private, be accountable to yourself by having regular weigh-ins and recording your diet and exercise progress in a journal.

  2. Trying to stay consistent with your weight loss workout plan is always easier when you do it with another person rather than going it alone. When you commit to something together, it gives you a personal bond which is something we all desire by human nature. You can also feed off of each others energy; when one is struggling the other can give them that boost or pep talk to get them through it, and when you see how well somebody else is doing, it inspires you to stick with the exercise plan because you can see the results. Plus, it’s just plain more fun to share your aspirations and successes with someone you respect and admire.

  3. Positive thoughts are empowering. A negative attitude can set processes in motion that makes losing weight difficult, if not impossible. Berating yourself every time you eat the wrong foods, constantly focusing on what you cannot eat and approaching your exercise regimen with dread are all ways that negative thought patterns can sabotage your weight loss efforts.

Comments are closed.