Fingering Yarns Are NOT All the Same!

I want to talk to all of you knitters out there who knit socks. I love knitting socks and I love sock yarn or fingering yarn. But they are NOT all the same.

Most patterns call for 50g (grams) per sock. So you know it will take 2 to make a pair. But do you pay attention to the yardage/meters? If not, you should. Why? Because not all 50g skeins have the same yardage/meters. They vary greatly from manufacturer to manufacturer. I know when I knit socks it will take close to 200 yards per sock to complete, so 400 yards for a pair.

Here are a few pics to show the difference in fingering yarns.

FysA

As you can tell by the above pic, these skeins are different sizes. Each is 50g or 1.75 ounces, but the number of yards/meters varies in each one. The Patons Kroy has 166 yards/152m; the Knit Picks has 218 yards (doesn’t list the meters); the Regia has 210 meters (yardage not listed, but is over 200 yards) and the Pegasus is 180 meters (196 yards).

FysC

This sock I knitted from the Patons had a very, very small amount left over. And that is only because I decided not to complete 5 rounds of the cuff pattern, just 3 rounds. If I had done 5 rounds, I would have run out of yarn on the first sock.

FysD

So be careful when choosing your fingering yarn. Compare the yards/meters required in your pattern to what is on the label. You may need more than 2 to complete your socks.

