Dead/Alive Fish MITTENS!! Yeah!

I did it! I finally came up with mittens to match my dead/alive fish hat! And it’s is so SIMPLE!

First choose your favorite BASIC mitten pattern. I chose an after-thought-thumb, round top mitten and knitted the basic mitten in colors to match the fish hat. Then I added eyes and fins.

Eyes can be crocheted or buttons or felt, whatever you want. Sew on about 1 inch from tip of mitten.

For the Dorsal fin, I cast on 10 stitches, knitted one row, then increased in each stitch for a total of 20 stitches. Then Knit 1 Purl l for 5 rows. Bind off. Sew to center of mitten about 1 inch away from eyes. The Pectoral fins are a cast on of 5 stitches. Knit 1 row. Then increase in each stitch for a total of 10 stitches. Knit 1 Purl 1 for 5 rows. Bind off. Make 2. Sew to sides about 1 inch back from beginning of Dorsal fin.

Simple and cute!

Don’t have enough of this particular yarn to finish the second mitten. Will try to find some, but may not be able to as it is discontinued. Anyway working on another hat and I will have enough yarn to make matching mittens and maybe even a scarf.

2 thoughts on “Dead/Alive Fish MITTENS!! Yeah!

  1. I spit the Ginger Ale out of my mouth when the headlines for this showed up in my e-mail. You clever, clever gal. This is wonderful. Will the other mitt be a lure?

  2. LOL! It’s so easy too. And no the other mitten will be a fish mitten too. 🙂

Comments are closed.