Twisted Ribbon Ball Ornaments Tutorial

I wanted to make something quick as gifts for the folks I work with. I began playing around with some ribbon and styrofoam balls. This tutorial is what I came up with.

Supplies:

2.5 – 3 inch diameter styrofoam balls
2.5 inch wide ribbon, about 10-12 feet per ball (I used wired ribbon as that is what I had on hand)
Dressmaker pins approximately 1 1/4 inch long (lots of them!)
Paper flowers (as used in scrapbooking)
8/0 seed beads (again something I had on hand)
Cord or thin ribbon for the hanger about 10 inches long for each ornament

Fold the end of the ribbon and pin it to the ball. I used the ribbon straight from the roll.

Twist the ribbon and begin wrapping in a spiral fashion around the ball. Pin as you go. Try to hide the pins in a fold of the ribbon. Push them in tightly. You may want to use a little Elmers glue on the tip of the pin. I did not use glue.

Continue twisting the ribbon and wrapping and pinning around the ball until you have covered the ball. Cut the ribbon and fold the end over and pin it down.

Cut a piece of cord or thin ribbon about 10 inches long. Fold in half and tie an overhand knot.

Pin cord to one end of the ball. Trim the ends.

Choose a paper flower. Load a seed bead on to a pin and attach flower to top of ball, covering the trimmed ends of the cord.

Viola! You’re done!

Thought I would add some pics of some finished ornaments for you.

4 thoughts on “Twisted Ribbon Ball Ornaments Tutorial

  1. I like these. I just finished folding fabric triangles and pinning them to balls,,,so I could try this next. And good grief…when did styrofoam get to be so expensive?

  2. Really? YOu buy Styrofoam on ebay? I hadn’t thought of that. Oh, by the way, I’ll be linking to your snake story tomorrow. I hope that’s okay. If not, let me know and I’ll remove the link. Barb

  3. Yes, you can find some deals on styrofoam on eBay, better than at a craft store. And yes, it’s fine with me if you want to link to the snake story.

Comments are closed.