I Have Found a New Love….Needle Felting!

I am a fan of the magazine Soft Dolls & Animals. And I have noticed in several of them there are patterns for needle felted critters.

In the January 2007 issue was a pattern for a needle felted teddy bear attached to a pincushion. The pattern is complete with instructions for making the pincushion and needle felting the bear, in parts, then needle felting the bear to the pincushion.

I thought it would be a difficult and complicated thing to do, but I was surprised at how easy it was. It was a little tedious in that it takes a while to “punch” the bear into shape. But it is fun to see the critter grow and turn into something recognizable. One does have to remember, though, to keep ones fingers away from the pointed end of the felting needle. They are barbed and extremely SHARP.

The recommended fiber is wool roving as it will felt, just like that wool sweater you accidentally sent through the washing machine and is now 3 sizes too small. If you live in a northern state, you probably have access to wool roving locally. But I live in the deep south and it cannot be found here locally. I have to buy mine on line. The best place I have found is the Red Barn Farm. They have a store on eBay and they have their own website, if you are so inclined to visit. You can also buy felting needles from them.

Anyway, here is a pic of the pincushion that I made.

