How the Hell Did I Get This Rash!?

About a month and a half ago I went to my doc…the usual check up thing…cholesterol levels, etc. I told him at that time about a spot on the bottom of my right foot that was driving me crazy, itching, burning, etc. He ordered a cream for it.

Well I got the prescription filled and applied it. It made my foot swollen and painful. Had to stop using it. Started using some antifungal creams. These didn’t seem to work. I know it takes several weeks to get it under control, but I so wanted this mess gone.

Then it started spreading. I only had one toenail that was fungal but suddenly all of them were fungal and the itching and redness had spread to my other foot. Bought more antifungal creams and some antifungal spray. Tried that for awhile. Still no results.

Woke up one morning with an itchy rash up both legs, on my hands and arms and back. My first thought was scabies….I work in a nursing home and scabies can and does run rampant in nursing homes. And sometimes the staff is exposed to the rash weeks before a definitive diagnosis and treatment are initiated.

So I made another appointment. In the meantime I used foot soaks for relief and continued the antifungal creams. I searched the net for other non-prescription home remedies for both fungi and scabies. Bought some tea tree oil and neem oil. Made some tea tree oil soap and neem oil soap. Used daily, sometimes twice daily. Also got some witch hazel. All of these did not get rid of the rash but managed to keep the itching down some.

Finally, I got in to see my doc. He said it was a fungus and ordered an antifungal pill and pills for the itching…which by the way, knock me out.

After 10 days of the pills, I still had the fungus. So I called him again. By this time, I’m sure he thought I was nuts….and believe me I’m close to being committed because of this rash. He called in another prescription…another cream. Used it and still no results. By this time I’m having additional problems with my skin peeling and cracking which are painful. My feet and hands began to swell. Can’t wear my rings. Had to get some expensive support/compression hose for the swelling in my feet and added some pure lanolin, just to lubricate my skin.

So I drop by his office and give him a written request for a referral to a dermatologist. About a week later I get a letter in the mail with an appointment date and time and, of course, paperwork to fill out.

In the meantime, I’m still using the tea tree oil soap and lanolin, have added a salycylic acid soap (for acne and fungi). Wearing the dang support/compression hose, especially to work.

August 31 cannot come soon enough. Will keep you all posted on my progress. Hopefully, this will be alleviated soon. I so want my skin back to normal.

UPDATE:

Some sort of allergic reaction, to what we don’t know yet. Had two biopsies done, one from my back and one from my knee. Was given a steroid shot and a script for antibiotics. Have to return to the dermatologist in 12 days.

UPDATE:

Biopsies came back as contact dermatitis….in other words, cause unknown. So now I’m on Prednisone for 17 days, then we will do patch testing.

4 thoughts on “How the Hell Did I Get This Rash!?

  1. Thanks, Donna. I hope it goes away too. It is driving me nuts. I have periods of intense itching and I feel like I’m going to scratch my hide off. I would love to wake up and it all be gone.

  2. Heavens to Betsy. They torture people in the same manner. Did you happen to brush up against some chemical warfare somewhere? I hope you’re better. This would drive a sane person nuts.

  3. It definitely was about to drive me nuts. The steroid shot has helped alot. We still have to find the cause and eliminate that.

Comments are closed.