CHALLENGE PROJECT QUILT BLOCK

For the past month I’ve been working on a challenge project in one of my online groups. I was only able to work on it a little at a time due to my work schedule.

I finally finished the top this morning. Appropriate colors for today, Memorial Day, don’t you think.

I haven’t decided yet how I’m going to quilt it and whether or not I will use an easy or difficult quilt pattern. But I’ve got a few weeks yet to have it done.

Finished quilting this quilt.

An update:

As stated we all used the same block. But look at how we interpreted it differently. I love the idea of one block. It’s amazing to see how each one interprets the block.

Michelle’s entry:

And Donna’s entry:

I just love the creativity evident here!

14 thoughts on “CHALLENGE PROJECT QUILT BLOCK

  1. Very pretty!!

    Have you tried transparent thread? I bought some but too chicken to try it.

  2. You mean the clear nylon thread? I’ve used it on other stuff, but I don’t like it. It knots up too much and breaks too easily, for my taste.

  3. That’s the stuff. I was wondering if it would melt when ironed. I guess I’ll have to try it to see if I like it.

  4. You might like it.

    The main reason most quilt patterns call for cotton thread is that it wears at the same rate as the cotton fabric. Synthetic threads last longer and end up causing holes/rips in the cotton fabric.

    So if you have an old cotton quilt sewn with cotton thread, you can make repairs to worn out thread without any damage to the fabric.

  5. Ah.. makes sense. Thanks!!

    Now you will have to post a picture of your finished quilt.

    I think I am finally ready to tackle my quilt tops.

  6. Hey!! You posted it!! Looks great.

    I will probably stipple and go in circles. I don’t do straight lines very well. Even with drawn lines with a marker. My hands just aren’t that steady anymore.

    And you want to hear something funny? When hubby was teaching me to drive back in the early 70’s, he said I held the steering wheel great and drove straight. I told him it was easy to stay on my side of the road in between the lines due to all my years of sewing. LOL!! My, how things change. The eyes go first. Then the hands. 😀

  7. I’ve got to practice that stippling! I’m better at the straight lines.

    I only do one line with a marker. I have a guide attachment to my walking foot that rests on the line already sewn. It’s adjustable so you can sew an inch away or up to 3 inches away from the one already sewn.

  8. Pingback: Craft Challenge using Monastery Windows Pattern « Sleepy Cat Hollow

  9. I returned that transparent thread yesterday. Plus some others that were too thick to thread through the sewing machine needle. I guess they were for hand sewing. Back to plain old cotton.

  10. Hey!! I didn’t know you added my little quilt to your post. Thanks!!

    Congrats on winning 1st place. It’s a beautiful quilt and a LOT of WORK!!

Comments are closed.